Myanmar Government Structure






Ministry of Defence

Lieutenant General Wai Lwin

Ministry of Home Affairs

Lieutenant General Ko Ko

Ministry of Border Affairs

Lieutenant General Thet Naing Win

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

U Wana Mg Lwin

Ministry of Social Welfare Relief Resettlement

Dr. Myat Myat Ohn Khin

Ministry of Information

U Aung Kyi

Ministry of Culture

U Aye Myint Kyu

Ministry of Agriculture and Irrigation

U Myint Hlaing

Ministry of Forestry

U Win Tun

Ministry of Finance and Revenue

U Win Shein

Ministry of Construction

U Kyaw Lwin

Ministry of National Planning and Economic Development

Ar. Kan Zaw

Ministry of Livestock and Fisheries

U Ohn Myint

Ministry of Commerce

U Win Myint

Ministry of Communication and Information Technology

U Myat Hein

Ministry of Labour

U Mg Myint

Ministry of Mines

Dr. Myint Aung

Ministry of Cooperatives

U Kyaw Hsan

Ministry of Transportation

U Nyan Tun Aung

Ministry of Hotels and Tourism

U Htein Aung

Ministry of Sports

U Tit Hsan

Ministry of Industry

U Aye Myint

Ministry of Rail Transportation

General Zay Yar Aung

Ministry of Energy

U Than Htein

Ministry of Electric Power

U Khin Mg Soe

Ministry of Education

Dr. Mya Aye

Ministry of Health

Dr. Pe Thet Khin

Ministry of Religious Affairs

U Hsan Hsint

Ministry of Science and Technology

Dr. Ko Ko Oo

Ministry of Immigration and Population

U Khin Ye

Ministry of President Office

1.       U Thein Nyut

2.       U Soe Mg

3.       U Soe Thein

4.       U Aung Min

5.       U Hla Tun

 6.       U Tin Naing Thein

Under the new constitution, the president and two vice-presidents will be selected by the parliament. Legislative--The newly approved constitution calls for a bicameral parliament. The lower house will have no more than 440 members and the upper house no more than 224. At least 25% of the legislature will be military, selected by the Chief of Defense Services. Judicial--The legal system is based on a British-era system, but with the constitution suspended, the military regime now rules by decree and there is no guarantee of a fair public trial; the judiciary is not independent. The new constitution provides for a supreme court, a constitutional tribunal, and lower courts.

Political parties: National League for Democracy ( NLD ) is the primary opposition party; National Unity Party ( NUP ) is the primary pro-regime party; the Union Solidarity and Development Association ( USDA ) is a pro-regime socio-political organization; there are also many smaller ethnic parties.

Administrative subdivisions: The country is divided into seven primarily Myanmar ethnic divisions ( tain ) of Ayeyarwady ( Irrawaddy ), Bago ( Pegu ), Magway, Mandalay, Yangon ( Rangoon ), Sagaing, and Tanintharyi ( Tenassarim ) and seven ethnic states ( pyi nay ): Chin State, Kachin State, Kayin ( Karen ) State, Kayah ( Karenni ) State, Mon State, Rakhine ( Arakan ) State, and Shan State.

Suffrage: Universal suffrage at 18 years of age.


Dawei Project

Business Opportunity

News & Events